Home » Flags » Flag of Cayman Islands

Flag of Cayman Islands

On May 14, 1958, the Cayman Islands’ national flag was formally established. The Cayman Islands, a British Overseas Territory, had formerly flown the official British flag for all administrative and official reasons. The coat-of-arms was awarded to the area, and this ensign was approved for use in the flag.

The base color of the Cayman Islands flag is navy blue. In the upper left corner, the British Union Jack is shown. Cayman Island’s coat of arms is in the center of the flag on the right side.

The coat of arms consists of a shield, a crested headpiece, and a motto. The three green stars on the crest represent the Cayman Islands. The white wavy lines indicate the sea. A gold lion represents Great Britain towards the top of the shield. Above the crest, there is a green turtle on a rope coil, and below the turtle is a gold pineapple. The country’s motto is written underneath the crest: “He hath founded it upon the seas.”

Facts about the Cayman Islands flag

Country Cayman Islands
Designed by NA
Adopted 14. May 1958
Revision 1958 – 1999
Design and Colors Blue ensign with the coat-of-arms of the Cayman Islands in the fly
Size Ratio 1:2
Official Name: Cayman Islands
Flag Proportion: 1:2
Adopted on: May 14, 1958
Location of Cayman Islands: Western Caribbean Sea
Capital City: George Town
Major Cities: West Bay, Bodden Town, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman
Area: 102 square miles
Population: 67,406
Currency: Cayman Islands Dollar (KYD)
Official Language: English
National Anthem: God Save the Queen
National symbol(s): green sea turtle
National anthem:
Name: “Beloved Isle Cayman”
Lyrics/Music: Leila E. ROSS