Home » India Map » West Bengal » West Bengal District Map

West Bengal District Map

About West Bengal

West Bengal is a state located in the eastern part of India. It shares its borders with Bangladesh, Assam, Sikkim, Bhutan, and Nepal. The state has 23 districts with unique culture, history, and geography. The districts are divided into three regions – North Bengal, South Bengal, and Kolkata. In this article, you’ll explore the names and locations of all the districts in West Bengal with our West Bengal District Map.

West Bengal Districts Facts

State West Bengal
Capital Kolkata
Official Language Bengali
Number of Districts 23
Number of Divisions 5 (Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Malda, Burdwan, Presidency)
Total Area 88,752 sq km
Population (2011) 91,347,736
Current Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee

Uttar Pradesh Map

West Bengal District Map in Hindi


Maharashtra District Map 2023

List of Districts in West Bengal

S.N District Headquarters Code Established Population (2011) Population Density Area Sq Km
1 Alipurduar Alipurduar AD 2014 1,491,250 441/km2 (1,140/sq mi) 3,383 km2 (1,306 sq mi)
2 Bankura Bankura BN 1947 3,596,674 523/km2 (1,350/sq mi) 6,882 km2 (2,657 sq mi)
3 Paschim Bardhaman Asansol BR 2017 2,882,031 1,798/km2 (4,660/sq mi) 1,603.17 km2 (618.99 sq mi)
4 Purba Bardhaman Bardhaman BR 2017 4,835,532 890/km2 (2,300/sq mi) 5,432.69 km2 (2,097.57 sq mi)
5 Birbhum Suri BI 1947 3,502,404 771/km2 (2,000/sq mi) 4,545 km2 (1,755 sq mi)
6 Cooch Behar Cooch Behar KB 1950 2,819,086 833/km2 (2,160/sq mi) 3,387 km2 (1,308 sq mi)
7 Darjeeling Darjeeling DA 1947 1,595,181 732/km2 (1,900/sq mi) 2,092.5 km2 (807.9 sq mi)
8 Dakshin Dinajpur Balurghat DD 1992 1,676,276 755/km2 (1,960/sq mi) 2,219 km2 (857 sq mi)
9 Hooghly Chinsura HG 1947 5,519,145 1,753/km2 (4,540/sq mi) 3,149 km2 (1,216 sq mi)
10 Howrah Howrah HR 1947 4,850,029 3,306/km2 (8,560/sq mi) 1,467 km2 (566 sq mi)
11 Jalpaiguri Jalpaiguri JP 1947 2,381,596 837/km2 (2,170/sq mi) 2,844 km2 (1,098 sq mi)
12 Jhargram Jhargram JH 2017 1,136,548 374/km2 (970/sq mi) 3,037.64 km2 (1,172.84 sq mi)
13 Kolkata Kolkata KO 1947 4,496,694 24,306/km2 (62,950/sq mi) 185 km2 (71 sq mi)
14 Kalimpong Kalimpong KA 2017 251,642 241/km2 (620/sq mi) 1,044 km2 (403 sq mi)
15 Malda English Bazar MA 1947 3,988,845 1,069/km2 (2,770/sq mi) 3,733 km2 (1,441 sq mi)
16 Paschim Medinipur Medinipur ME 2002 4,776,909 757/km2 (1,960/sq mi) 6,308 km2 (2,436 sq mi)
17 Purba Medinipur Tamluk ME 2002 5,095,875 1,076/km2 (2,790/sq mi) 4,736 km2 (1,829 sq mi)
18 Murshidabad Baharampur MU 1947 7,103,807 1,334/km2 (3,460/sq mi) 5,324 km2 (2,056 sq mi)
19 Nadia Krishnanagar NA 1947 5,167,601 1,316/km2 (3,410/sq mi) 3,927 km2 (1,516 sq mi)
20 North 24 Parganas Barasat PN 1986 10,009,781 2,445/km2 (6,330/sq mi) 4,094 km2 (1,581 sq mi)
21 South 24 Parganas Alipore PS 1986 8,161,961 819/km2 (2,120/sq mi) 9,960 km2 (3,850 sq mi)
22 Purulia Purulia PU 1956 2,930,115 468/km2 (1,210/sq mi) 6,259 km2 (2,417 sq mi)
23 Uttar Dinajpur Raiganj UD 1992 3,007,134 958/km2 (2,480/sq mi) 3,140 km2o (1,210 sq mi)

More info

Bihar District Map

West Bengal District Map in Bengali

Regions of West Bengal District Map

North Bengal

North Bengal comprises six districts – Darjeeling, Kalimpong, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, and Uttar Dinajpur. This region is known for its tea gardens, hills, forests, and wildlife. Darjeeling, a popular hill station, is located in this region.

South Bengal

South Bengal comprises nine districts – Murshidabad, Nadia, North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Howrah, Hooghly, Kolkata, East Midnapore, and West Midnapore. This region is known for its historical sites, temples, rivers, beaches, and mangrove forests. Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal, is located in this region.


Kolkata, also known as the ‘City of Joy,’ is a district on its own. It is the cultural, intellectual, and economic capital of the state. The district has many heritage sites, monuments, museums, and markets.

Other Districts

The remaining eight districts are located in different parts of the state. These districts are Purba Bardhaman, Paschim Bardhaman, Birbhum, Bankura, Purulia, Malda, Dakshin Dinajpur, and Jhargram. These districts are known for their agriculture, handicrafts, forests, and hills.